Bet on Who Will Win the 2015 Nobel Peace Prize

The Nobel Peace Prize is an extremely prestigious prize which has been around since 1901.

Almost every year, it has been awarded to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the world, especially if their actions related somewhat to creating and promoting peace between nations.

There are five Nobel Prizes in total, all created by Alfred Nobel, but this is probably the most well-known of them all.

Bet on Who Will Win the 2015 Nobel Peace Prize

Who Has Previously Won the Nobel Peace Prize?

The first winners of this prize were Henry Dunant and Frederic Passy in 1901. They won the prize for their massive contributions to charity and their roles in founding the Red Cross charity.

Frederic Passy was one of the main men behind the first Universal Peace Congress, so it’s no wonder that this pair bagged the first prize.

It’s not only been individual people who have been fortunate enough to win the Nobel Peace Prize over the years, however. The International Committee of the Red Cross have won it several times, and organizations such as the Nansen International Office for Refugees won in 1938 for helping refugees.

In 1964, Martin Luther King Jr., a man who went on to become a household name, won the award for his civil rights campaigns. He campaigned without violence and set a wonderful example to the rest of the Western World.

Mother Theresa has obviously made it to the list, and in 1979, her charity work around the world was recognised with the award of the Nobel Peace Prize.

The current holders of the Nobel Peace Prize are Kailash Satyarthi from India and Malala Yousafzai from Pakistan.

Both these winners were given the prize as a result of their work towards helping children access education. Malala Yousafzai is the youngest person to have won the prize so far.

When and Where is the Nobel Peace Prize Awarded?

Each year on December 10th, the Nobel Peace Prize is awarded to the winner by the King of Norway. Since 1990, the prize has been presented to the winner in Oslo City Hall, making it the only one of the Nobel Prizes to not be awarded in Stockholm.

2015 Nominations

This year, there have been 276 nominations for the Nobel Peace Prize, the second highest number to ever be received.

In total, there are 227 individuals and 49 organizations which are up for the award.

The decision will be made in October to decide who should win the Peace Prize.

Betting on the Winner of the Nobel Peace Prize

You can bet on who you think will be the winner through bookie Paddy Power until October 1st at 10pm.

Paddy Power’s favourite is Mussie Zerai, a man who has done a huge amount to stop human trafficking in Africa. He has odds of 5/1, and is followed closely by Flemming Rose with odds of 10/1.

Pope Francis has made the list with odds of 7/1, while other less likely winners include Wayne Rooney with 66/1.

Organizations include the “One Billion Acts of Peace” and UNESCO, both which have sought to promote peace around the world.

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies. More information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.