Who Will Be the BBC Sports Personality of 2015?

Since 1954, sports people have fought for the title of BBC Sports Personality of the Year.

Only in the last twenty years or so have we seen more awards being introduced, which means that even those who miss out on the main award are still in with the chance of getting Special Team awards, Good Sports awards and several others.

Each year, before the winner is announced in December, people up and down the UK speculate about who they think will be crowned.

Where Did It All Originate?

A man by the name of Paul Fox came up with the Sports Personality award over 60 years ago, and the award was given to a sports person who had achieved a lot within that year.

Christopher Chataway, an athlete who had participated in the Helsinki Olympic Games of 1952, was the first winner of the award, during the 45-minute show which took place at the Savoy Hotel.

In the year 1954, when he won BBC Sports Personality of the Year, he had set the world record for the 5000 metres, but later went into politics.

Who Holds the 2014 Title?

The 2014 ceremony took place in the famous SSE Hydro in Glasgow, Scotland, and fittingly so after the incredible Commonwealth Games took place in the Scottish city earlier in the year.

From the ten nominees, Formula One driver Lewis Hamilton walked away with the award, after having a total of eleven victories at the Formula One World Drivers’ Championship last year.

BBC Sports Personality Andy Murray

So far, Andy Murray is the bookmakers’ favourite for 2015

Who Could Potentially Win This Year’s Award?

While the nominees for the 2015 BBC Sports Personality of the Year award have not yet been announced so early on in the year, there are several sportsmen and women who are already topping the bookies’ charts.

Already, we have seen some outstanding sporting events, such as the Australian Open, and it’s no wonder that Scottish tennis player Andy Murray is PaddyPower’s hot favourite to win the award with odds of 3/1.

Lewis Hamilton is expected to be up for the award again, with odds of 6/1, and Rory McIlroy who narrowly missed out last year has odds of 7/1.

Ronnie O’Sullivan, world-renowned snooker player and Amir Khan aren’t far behind either.

Betting and Finding out the Winner

Each year, many sports fans make a bet on who they think will be crowned the winner of the BBC Sports Personality of the Year award.

Bet365 has different odds from PaddyPower this year, and although their favourite is also Andy Murray, there are odds of 5/1.

Jessica Ennis-Hill is favoured over Ronnie O’Sullivan with Bet365, although Lewis Hamilton and Rory McIlroy are still in second and third place with odds of 6/1 and 7/1 respectively, exactly the same as PaddyPower.

Betting companies such as Sky Bet are also popular as the ceremony gets closer and fans want to start placing bets.

The ceremony for 2015 will take place on 13 December at 6pm, and the winner will be announced during the show.

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies. More information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.